2013 Winners

Another SHARK SCRAMBLE over for 2013 . There were 55 shark caught with the largest weighing in a MAKO at 444 pounds caught by CHAD GRAHAM on TYKISHA J. Second place was caught by DANNY AMIRAULT on AMANDA AND ALLISON weighing in at 392 pounds. THIRD place was IAN MC NICOL on MATADOR 1 weighing in at 386 pounds

The Vanguard article by Carla Allen

Check pages 3-18 of the photo gallery for the currently available photos of the 2013 Yarmouth Shark Scramble.

We would like to thank all participants, volunteers and sponsors for an amazing scramble this year!

2012 Yarmouth Shark Scramble Winners

2012 Yarmouth Shark Scramble Results


17 boats 135 fishers and 48 sharks caught. 1 mako 216 lb.
Tournament was a huge success, sunny skies temperature 24 Celsius.


First place Ian Mcnicol 429 lbs on Matador (Captain Perry Amirault)

Second place Tracy Doucette 425 lbs on James and Wilbur (Captain Mike Nickerson)

Third place Daniel R Muise 378 lbs on Rebecca Lynn 1 (Captain Stephan d’Entrement)

2011 Yarmouth Shark Scramble Winners

1st place Patrick Hicks on the M/V James and Wilbert, Captain Mike Nickerson

2nd place Jamie Boudreau on the M/V Matador, Captain Perry Amirault

3rd place Sandy Patten on the M/V James and Wilbert, Captain Mike Nickerson

Mike Nickerson, our 1st place winner, had the good fortune to have the film crew from Land and Sea aboard.   The show can be seen in the CBC archives by clicking this link.

2010 Yarmouth Shark Scramble Winners


Largest shark caught by Chad Graham from the boat Tykisha J – 439lb – blue shark

2nd place – Brandon McNicol from the boat Matador – 362lb – blue shark

3rd place – Darin Lowe from the boat Knot to Sure – 356lb – blue shark

15 boats and 109 participants registered.  44 sharks were caught.  42 were tournament sharks and 2 were tagged sharks.

If there was ever a year to go fishing it was this year! Lots of sunshine and calm seas made for one of our best shark derbies yet. Activities included a bounce pirate ship for children, air brush tattoos, fish pond and photo opt, shark trivia and give a ways and live music.

Winner of the Grand Stage Prize winner was Jack Wells from the boat Go For Broke. A very happy Jack won a Zodiac boat and motor generously donated by Nordic Marine Ltd.


2009 Yarmouth Shark Scramble Winners

1st place-Jim Mcdormant-Largest shark-378lb Blue shark M/V Ocean Warrior, Captain Bernie Nickerson  $5000.00 and the coveted 1st place trophy.

2nd place-Daniel Muise Jr. 370lb Blue Shark M/V Rebecca Lynn $2500.00

3rd place-IanMcnicol, 348lb blue shark M/V Matador, Captain Perry Amiro

There were 19 Boats and 167 participants multiply that by 3 and you have 501 shark folks.

In 2008 we had the “Wild Chef” do a production for the famous Food Network channel. Chef Martin Picard (No not the star trek guy!) and Hugue Dufor proved that almost all of a shark can be eaten.

The grand stage prize winner last year was Clive Deeble from team Iqaluit,Nunavut on the M/V Sheila And Heidi. Which happened to be a 20 h.p. lawn tractor. We’re sure that came in handy up north :)

2008 Yarmouth Shark Scramble Winners

1st place M/V Ocean Warrior, Bernie Nickerson largest shark 403.7 blue   $5000.00

2nd place M/V Matador, Jamie Boudreau 337.7 blue  $2500.00

3rd place M/V Tykisha-J, Kenny Graham 326.7 lb blue  $1000.00

High boat average Trinity 2004, Captain Mike Nickerson total wt. of 1637.7 lbs. avg. wt. 272.95 lbs  $1000.00

The grand stage prize went to Brian Mckay, M/V Lady Anne Marie : a trip for 2 down south

The electric scooter went to Randy Ritchie, M/V Little Maco

There were 18 vessels entered with 147 participants 118 sharks were caught with a total wt. of 23,439 lbs. All sharks caught were blue shark with the exception of one which was a thresher shark.